Jeff Hubbard Wins the 2011 IBA Pipeline Pro

After finding himself in a combination situation late in the final, Jeff Hubbard charged back to win the 2011 IBA Pipeline Pro in deteriorating 3-5 foot, side-shore conditions.

Tom Rigby (above), the Aussie super-grom, had established a commanding lead with a total score of 14.65. This meant Hubbard (Hawaii), who had only managed to scrape together a meager 3.05, would need two scoring waves to overtake the leader with 12 minutes remaining in the 25 minute final.

The Australian contingency was loving it, and they gathered on the shoreline to cheer on Rigby, an IBA tour rookie. In contrast, the vibe in the Hawaii camp was quiet and somber. With time running out, it didn’t look like Hubbard would have an opportunity to mount a comeback. Then with eight minutes remaining, Jeff was able to find a punchy Backdoor section and unleashed a big ARS to push himself into second place with a 12.20 total.

That wave was the spark Hubbard needed to ignite his run for first, and just minutes later he managed to squeeze through a deep, chandeliering Backdoor barrel to move into first place. Another big ARS on a Backdoor section in the final minutes would secure the win, and Hubbard’s third Pipeline title.

Congratulations to Jeff Hubbard, winner of the 2011 IBA Pipeline Pro, and current IBA World Tour leader! An amazing comeback and a huge win to kick off the 2011 season.

Final results from the 2011 IBA Pipeline Pro: 1st – Jeff Hubbard (HAW), 2nd – Tom Rigby (AUS), 3rd Jared Houston (ZAF), 4th Dallas Singer (AUS).